The adult content filter is designed to protect you from viewing content which may be unsuitable. Members can choose to remove this setting, by proving that they are over 18.
How do I turn it off?
To turn off the adult content filter, you need to prove that you’re 18 or older. You can do this with either:
A passport, or
A full or provisional British (i.e. England, Scotland or Wales) driving licence
Note: Northern Ireland driving licences don't use the same code, so cannot be used.
The licence can either be from a photocard (18 characters) or from an old-style paper licence (16 characters, but in that case add 01 at the end to pad it to 18 characters). It's the only way you can remove the block.
Important: You can't lift the adult content block without the use of a passport or British driving licence for technical and safety reasons.
Remove the block through the App
Remove the block through the App
Access the App and tap 'Account'
Tap 'Personal details'
Tap 'Account' and then 'Profile and settings' from the drop down
Scroll down until you see 'Phone and call service settings'
Click 'Open' (to the right of 'Allow adult content on phone')
Select 'I want to access adult content'
Choose if you are using your Driving license or Passport as your form of ID
Follow the instructions, then enter your Driving license or Passport number
Tick 'I am over 18 and I have read and accepted the terms and conditions'
Tap 'Save'
Remove the block through your phone browser
Remove the block through your phone browser
Access the browser on your phone and log into your giffgaff account
Tap 'Account' and then 'Profile and settings' from the drop down
Scroll down until you see 'Phone and call service settings'
Click 'Open' (to the right of 'Allow adult content on phone')
Select 'I want to access adult content'
Choose if you are using your Driving license or Passport as your form of ID
Follow the instructions, then enter your Driving license or Passport number
Tick 'I am over 18 and I have read and accepted the terms and conditions' and tap 'Save'
It can also take up to 24 hours and you’ll receive a text when it’s done.
You might need to restart your phone for the block to be removed fully, if you have already taken all of these steps, chat with one of our agents who can help you with this.
Need a hand? Ask the community. Our members know their stuff and are happy to help.








